The Committee members

The National Committee for the Protection of Animals used for Scientific Purposes consists of a chairman and 6 members, all with high professional expertise and experience in at least one of the following areas: Replacement, Reduction and Refinement concerning animal experiments and laboratory animals.

Axel Kornerup Hansen (Chairman)

Axel Kornerup Hansen is a veterinarian with a doctorate in veterinary science and a Professor of laboratory animal science and welfare at the University of Copenhagen. He conducts research in the areas of reduction and refinement – primarily in rodents.

Find mores information about Axel Kornerup Hansen here.

Christine Nellemann

Christine Nellemann was educated as MSc in human biology and holds a PhD in medicine from Copenhagen University. She has been employed at the National Food Institute since 1999 and is now director of the institute belonging to the Technical University of Denmark (DTU).

Find more information about Christine Nellemann here.

Adrian Smith

Adrian Smith is a British veterinarian, but he has lived in Norway for the last 35 years. He has had many different positions within the laboratory animal community in Norway, including the Chair in Laboratory Animal Science at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences. Since 2007 he has been secretary of Norecopa, Norway's National Consensus Platform for replacement, reduction and refinement of animal experiments.

Find more information about Adrian Smith here.

Erwin L. Roggen

Dr. Erwin Roggen obtained a degree in Biochemistry at the University of Antwerp in 1984. He has been involved for over 20 years in development, implementation, dissemination and acceptance of alternative methods to animal testing.

Find more information about Erwin Roggen here.

Jan Lund Ottesen

Jan Lund Ottesen was educated as veterinarian (DVM) and holds a PhD in Veterinary Medicine from Copenhagen University. He has worked with laboratory animals at Novo Nordisk for more than 25 years. He is furthermore a European Veterinary Specialist in Laboratory Animal Medicine & ECLAM (European College of Laboratory Animal Medicine) de facto diplomat (dipECLAM).

Find more information about Jan Lund Ottesen here.

Lisbeth E. Knudsen

Lisbeth E. Knudsen is Professor in Animal free toxicology, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Copenhagen. She is chair of the local ethics committee of the Faculties of Science and of Health and Medicine and member of one of the regional medical ethics committee.

Find more information about Lisbeth E. Knudsen here.

Peter Bollen

Peter Bollen is associate professor and head of department at the Biomedical Laboratory, University of Southern Denmark, and has been working with laboratory animals since 1992. His area of interest is improvement of anesthesia, analgesia and optimization of housing and nutrition of experimental animals. Last was also the subject of his PhD study.

Find more information about Peter Bollen here.